Posted by: EcoNaturalist | April 23, 2011

The First Occupants

One of my strongest passions is to watch & study birds and their ecosystems. With that in mind, last year I studied on becoming a nest watcher for citizens science. The training was through Cornell University Ornithological Laboratory.

In late winter I bought and put up two nesting boxes hoping to have a Bluebird family take up residence. The nesting boxes are about 10 feet off the ground & not near bushes or other structures that a cat could hide behind.

Today my wife saw a Carolina Wren taking assorted nesting materials into the nesting box that is farthest from my house. She pointed it out to me and we watched for a couple hours the work that the Wrens were doing.

Carolina Wrens are known for building multiple nests to thrown off & confuse predator, so I’ll have to wait and see if this nesting box bird hotel will be where new Avian life is brought into this world.

I will be watching & monitoring the nest and post new findings and updates over the next 4-6 weeks. I hope you will check back from time to time.

image
image
image

Leave a Reply

Categories

